Regions of the United States

A reading comprehension lesson about the location and characteristics of each of the five regions within the United States. Includes printable teaching lesson worksheet.



• Students will be able to name and locate each region in the United States.

• Students will be able to identify characteristics of the economy in the various regions of the United States.

• Students will be able to identify geographical characteristics of the various regions of the United States.


Suggested Grades:

4th Grade - 5th Grade - 6th Grade

Lesson Procedure:

Print the reading comprehension passage and questions (see below).

Students should read the passage silently, then answer the questions. Teachers may also use the text as part of a classroom lesson plan.


Lesson Excerpt:

The mainland of the United States is divided into five regions. They are the Northeast, Southeast, Midwest, Southwest and West. Within the Northeast region are the six states that make up New England - Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont and Maine. The other Northeast states are New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Maryland and Delaware, which are known as the Middle Atlantic States. The Northeast region is a center for manufacturing. In fact, there are so many factories in the Middle Atlantic States that the area is known as the Manufacturing Belt. Many people in the Northeast also work in service and communications jobs. New York City and Washington, D.C. are the major cities in this region of the country.

There are twelve states in the Southeast region of the country: Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Arkansas, and Louisiana. This region is known for a variety of agricultural crops, including peanuts and peaches.



Lesson Printables:

Print this printable worksheet for this lesson:

More Social Studies Lesson Plans, Lessons, and Worksheets